Student Loans

Beginning in the fall 2014 semester, Kaskaskia College will no longer be offering the Direct Loan Program through the Department of Education. Student Loans will be offered through the preferred lender, Sallie Mae. The interest rates, repayment options, and terms may vary depending on which lender the student chooses to use.  Students may also need to provide a credit worthy co-signer in order to qualify for a student loan or to receive a lower interest rate through one of these preferred lenders.

 

1.      Steps before applying for a Student Loan

a.      Fill out FAFSA

                                                              i.      http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/

b.      Complete additional paperwork with the FA Office (optional)

2.      Steps to apply for an Outside Loan

a.      Choose a lender

                                                 i.      Sallie Mae

a)      https://www.salliemae.com/student-loans/

b.      If you are a first-time borrower with Kaskaskia College, you will need to attend a First-Time Loan seminar after being approved for a student loan

                                                              i.       Please contact the Loan Services Coordinator at 618-545-3072 to set up an appointment.

c.       Follow up with Financial Aid Office to make sure Loan was certified

                                                              i.      618-545-3080

3.      Steps after you’ve graduated, withdrawn, or dropped below 6 credit hours if you have previously had a Direct Loan through the Department of Education

a.      Complete Online Seminar and Complete Quiz at the end.

                                      i.      Click here for Seminar

b.      Complete Online Exit Counseling with StudentLoans.gov

                                      i.      https://studentloans.gov/myDirectLoan/index.action

4.      Important Dates and Deadlines

  • Summer 2015

  • 1st Deadline - Friday, June 1, 2015
  • 1st Loan Transfer - Tuesday, June 16, 2015
  • 1st Loan Check Date - Friday, June 19, 2015


  • 2nd Deadline - Monday, June 29, 2015
  • 2nd Loan Transfer - Tuesday, July 14, 2015
  • 2nd Loan Check Date - Friday, July 17, 2015

  • Fall 2015

  • 1st Deadline - Friday, August 31, 2015
  • 1st Loan Transfer - Tuesday, September 15, 2015
  • 1st Loan Check Date - Friday, September 18, 2015


  • 2nd Deadline - Friday, October 2, 2015
  • 2nd Loan Transfer - Tuesday, October 20, 2015
  • 2nd Loan Check Date - Friday, October 23, 2015


  • 3rd Deadline - Friday, October 30, 2015
  • 3rd Loan Transfer - Tuesday, November 17, 2015
  • 3rd Loan Check Date - Friday, November 20, 2015

  • Spring 2016

  • 1st Deadline - Monday, January 25, 2016
  • 1st Loan Transfer - Tuesday, February 9, 2016
  • 1st Loan Check Date - Friday, February 12, 2016


  • 2nd Deadline - Monday, February 29, 2016
  • 2nd Loan Transfer - Tuesday, March 15, 2016
  • 2nd Loan Check Date - Friday, March 18, 2016


  • 3rd Deadline - Monday, April 4, 2016
  • 3rd Loan Transfer - Tuesday, April 19, 2016
  • 3rd Loan Check Date - Friday, April 22, 2016

  • Summer 2016

  • 1st Deadline - Friday, May 27, 2016
  • 1st Loan Transfer - Tuesday, June 14, 2016
  • 1st Loan Check Date - Friday, June 17, 2016


  • 2nd Deadline - Monday, June 27, 2016
  • 2nd Loan Transfer - Tuesday, July 12, 2016
  • 2nd Loan Check Date - Friday, July 15, 2016

© 2015 Kaskaskia College - 27210 College Road - Centralia, Illinois 62801 - (618)545-3000 (800)642-0859