Kaskaskia College Athletics Hall of Fame

1991 Chuck Mundell
1991 Dorothy Eagen
1991 Russell Coleman
1992 Chuck Hawley
1992 Gary Boles
1992 Tammy Moore
1993 George Marcum
1993 Tom Gray
1993 Wayne Harre
1994 Bryan Eversgerd
1994 Doug Rommelman
1994 Mary Lampe Schildroth
1994 Nate Clay
1994 Shirley Gilter
1995 Bill Hawley
1995 Chris Haake Langford
1995 Jeff Rogers
1996 Larry Smith
2001 Dottie Smith
2001 Marg Beckmann
2008 1963– 1964 Men’s Basketball Team
2008 Bill Niepoetter
2008 Craig Freels
2008 Dr. Shelvy Haywood Keglar
2008 KC Hall of Fame Ceremony
2008 Mary Ann Bohbrink
2009 1954-55 Men’s Basketball Team
2009 Jim McKee
2009 KC Hall of Fame Ceremony
2009 Ken Abrams
2009 Monica Konkel O’Rear
2009 Robert J. Logullo
2009 Robert S. Welch, Sr.
2010 1990-91 Men's Baseball Team
2010 Becky Isaacs Hannaford
2010 Jeff Morris
2010 Joe Stark
2010 KC Hall of Fame Ceremony
2010 Mike Pittman
2010 Ray Johnson
2010 Stew Kirkland
2011 1990 Women's Volleyball Team
2011 Cathy Karrick
2011 Harvey Welch
2011 Jason Rakers
2011 Kristy Jones Barton
2011 Pam Jones Evischi
2011 Scott Jones
2012 1966-67 Men's Basketball Team
2012 1988-89 MEN’S BASEBALL TEAM
2012 Al Coers
2012 Becky Richert Wessel
2012 Hal Hempen
2012 Leslie Dumstorff
2012 Liea Toedte
2013 1981-82 Men's Baseball Team
2013 Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony
2013 Cheryl Harre
2013 Joe Petrea
2013 Jon Behrens
2013 Keli Lunn
2013 Robert Hight
2013 Wayne Astrauskas
2014 1940-41 Men's Basketball Team
2014 1984-85 Men's Basketball Team
2014 Dr. James and Roxie Underwood
2014 Jason Backs
2014 Jeff Mahy
2014 Jerri Wiley
2014 Jim Sinovic
2014 Kristen Bening Hundelt
2014 Tammy Winkeler Gomez

Larry Smith

Larry Smith preferred pix.jpg

In 1966, Larry Smith came to KC as Head Baseball Coach and after coaching nearly 1,900 baseball games retired after the 2002 season. Only the fourth Illinois Junior College coach to surpass 800 victories, his teams garnered seven conference championships (SICC-1968, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1981, GRAC-1988). Smith was Conference Coach of the Year in 1988. His team record stands at six NJCAA sectional titles, sectional runner-ups 17 times, and at Regional level, placed fourth in 1989, third in 1985 and 1994, and took the Region 24 title in 1991. Great Lake District Tourney runners-up in 1991 only two games kept them from playing in the NJCAA National Tournament. Twelve of his players signed with major league organizations and three played in the big leagues. Smith also developed a copyrighted baseball scorebook in 1968 and taught baseball and sportsmanship to local youth through countless baseball camps and clinics.

He served as Chairman of the Illinois Junior College Baseball Committee in 1982, 1983, 1991 and 1994 and was a member of the Region 24 Baseball Committee since 1982. Smith coached the South Junior College All-Stars, hosted at Wrigley Field in 1982 and 1994 as well as being named Assistant Coach in 1979, 1981, 1983, and 1984. He was chosen to coach the North team in the 1986 U.S. Olympic Festival in Houston, Texas that took the bronze medal. Smith was the driving force behind building a state-of-the-art baseball facility for Kaskaskia College, utilizing volunteers and donations; resulting in one of the finest college baseball facilities in existence. The complex was named Larry Smith Field in 1999 in honor of Coach Smith and in 2003 his KC baseball jersey #3 was retired.

His many honors include the Illinois High School Baseball Coaches’ Hall of Fame, the Centralia Sports Hall of Fame, the Cerro Gordo Hall of Fame, and was inducted into the NJCAA Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame in 2009.

 larry smith1.jpg            Larry Smith 3.jpg