KC Logo

2011 Phi Theta Kappa Results: 

Susie Wurth - 2011 PTK Distinguished Advisor of the Year
I would like to send out a BIG CONGRATS to Susie Wurth, sponsor of PTK for being awarded the Distinguished Advisor Award at the PTK International Convention in Seattle, Washington this past weekend. Susie has done a fine job with the program here at Kaskaskia College and she is to be commended on all her hard work

Awards Earned at Illinois Regional Convention Iota Omicron scores at Illinois Regional Convention

9 AWARDS Earned Congratulations to the members and Officer Team 2010-2011 for a highly successful year.  Their success was acknowledged at the Awards Ceremony at the annual Illinois Regional Convention in Marion this past Saturday night.    

  •  Outstanding Officer  & Leader of Distinction award– former President Sarah Rohner in her leadership of the chapter

  • Outstanding Officer Team – recognizing the hard work and dedication of Officers Sarah Rohner, Danny Finley, Tiffany Geppert, Jenny Cayo, Nancy Kobus, Josh Oestreich, Brandon Gebke, Jeff Augustine, Ericka Eaton, Vikki Siddell

  • Outstanding Honors In Action project – privacy and social networking with final podcasts available on the Phi Theta Kappa student website

  • Outstanding College Project – providing Leadership training for the chapter and Honors program members at a Leadership Summit

  • Spirit Award – Brandon Gebke for his energy in promoting the PTK 5K Runs

  • 1st Place in the Yearbook Competition – thanks to the efforts of former Officers Nancy Kobus, Sarah Rohner and new Officer Emily Shaeffer

  • Outstanding Advisor – Susie Wurth

AND Ericka Eaton was installed as Southern Regional Vice President for the Illinois Region. Her responsibilities include attending the International Honors Institute at Boston University next week, being a part of the Regional Officers team for the Honors and Leadership Institute in October, the Lincoln Lock in in February, being recognized on stage at International Convention in Nashville TN next April, and will finish her term of office at next June's Regional Convention.


It truly takes a village to raise a 'child'.  These awards would not have been possible without the support of so many of you - to begin listing all those who have assisted and supported us this past year would be dangerous for me - I am sure someone will be missed.  Here is a 'partial list':

-Kathy Overstreet, Jenna Lammers, Amber Edwards,  Deana and her Security crew, Laura Finley and her facilities/maintenance crew, Malia and her print shop staff, Nancy Kinsey, Nick Kolweier and Aggie Edwards for their role in reports management, VP Sedgwick Harris, Lisa Bowman, Marco Price and the Student Services Dept, Sandy Taylor and her crew, Dr Underwood, Cathy Quick and the Board of Trustees, Dean Kellie Henegar, Eric Hofleich and the Honors Program, Nic Farley for his IT assistance, Ron Kwiatowski and the mail room, Cheryl Johnson and the Bookstore staff, the Success Center -for sharing (! They know), Arlene Dueker and the library staff and the many faculty and staff who have supported the chapter in the past year.


Most of the new Officer Team attended the Convention and recognize the bar has been set high--and have STILL committed to achieve all this and more!

New Officer Team:

President - Amanda Bathon

VP Leadership - Ericka Eaton

VP Scholarship - Emily Schaeffer

VP Service - Katie Ryan and Rachael Diss VP Fellowship - Brandon Zurliene and Stephen Rogers

Treasurer- Laura Maue

Historian - Amber Wayt and Ali Potthast

Public Relations - Lauren Hunt


Congratulations to the students for their accomplishments and again, our thanks to all of you for your support and assistance.


© 2018 Kaskaskia College - 27210 College Road - Centralia, Illinois 62801 - (618)545-3000 (800)642-0859